Hair Vs. Uncle Funky’s Daughter

To start my Hair care journey I thought it would be a good idea to use products I already have. I don’t get products sent to me so I have to take baby steps. My hair pantry was filled with options considering I had been product jumping since my big chop. As I said in my last post I haven’t found that perfect all around product yet but I have to start somewhere. Today, that starting point would be product I hadn’t tried before.

Project X: My hair at ground Zero.

When making my decisions I wanted to try to use a product that was accessible to everyone so I decided “why not use a free sample.” This past summer I attended the Detroit Natural Hair Expo and I was one of the lucky few to get a VIP bag. They had several product samples and I decided to give Uncle Funky’s Daughter a try. They were one of the main sponsors last year so I figured their products would be great to try.

When reviewing products I have a 5 point flower scale. Why? Forget the Drake lyrics I was going to include I just love Flowers. Here is how it will look.

🌸 = 1

🌼= .05

I will give points based one ease of use, portion size, texture, moisture, definition, and lastly results. We all want to know if products work or not. Lastly I will vote whether or not I would add this product to my Wash Day bag. At the end of the month I will update all viewers on which product have had it to the bag.

So here we go Round #1

Ashley’s Hair Vs.Uncles Funky’s Daughter

Product: Heal and Renew Intensive hair masque

Directions: Apply generously to Hair from Root to Tip. Cover for 5 minutes then rise or cover for 30 minutes with heat.

Results: 🌸🌸🌸🌸🌼

I tried the Uncle Funky’s Daughter intensive healing masque and it has me wondering where is my Cousin Funky lol. It had to be created by family because this product earned 4.5 flowers for me. I really enjoyed the feeling of my hair when I used this product.

I loved using this Masque as a deep conditioner. When I first applied the product it wasn’t too thick and it created a kind of detanglizing feeling for my hair. The consistency was similar to lotion but much more creamy, which I like. It was easy to run my fingers through and I didn’t use a comb or brush to apply the product. What I enjoyed most was the tingling sensation I got when the masque touched my roots. It gave me the sensation of having fresh peppermint or Eucalyptus on my hair. The smell was just as intoxicating. There is something about essential oils, it does something to me.

After my hair was completely covered as you can see my curls were defined. My hair was very light and it felt really soft.

On the directions there were two options. The first option is the 5 minute quick fix where you are able to let it sit for a short time and rise out right away.

The second option, the option I decided to chose was leaving your hair covered for 30 minutes. I put on a shower cap and I let the product sit for a little over 30 minutes.

When I removed the cap my hair felt light and fluffy. My curls were so moisturized. I wish it was a leave in conditioner because my hair was perfect for a ‘wash and Go’ after I took off the cap.

After using the Hair Masque one thing I can say is that it truly made me curious about their other products. I wanted to find out if they had a moisturizer for after use. If they had a leave in conditioner, something for twist outs. The introduction product was intriguing. Good sample choice. Brownie points to their marketing team.

For a free sample, Uncle Funky’s Daughter you get 4.5 flowers 🌸🌸🌸🌸🌼. The sample size was a great portion, easy to use, perfect for one complete use. I’m considering going out and buying a full size bottle now because I want to know if it really works now.

Great product. I would add this product to my wash day bag.

Just throw it in the bag! 🔥

Samples were provided at the 2018 Detroit Natural Hair Expo. If you’re interested in purchasing any Uncle Funky’s Daughter products their website is listed below.

http://unclefunkysdaughter.com

Want to see the video? Visit Instagram @UnpopularAshley for exclusive footage.

One comment

Leave a comment